Lonmin Design Innovation Award 2010 – Winners Announced


Lonmin Design Innovation Award 2010 – Winners Announced

LONDON, May 16, 2010 – The eight winners of the platinum based Lonmin Design Innovation Award 2010 have been announced following the judging of the competition.
Katie's Rowland's ear pieces (2009)
Katie’s Rowland’s ear pieces (2009)
In the “Emerging Designers” category – for jewellery designers with less than five years’ commercial experience – the four winners are:  Alexander Davis, Haruko Horikawa, Fangfang Qiao and Katie Rowland.

In the “Established Designers” category – for jewellery designers in the business for more than five years – the four winners are: John Bradley, James Powell, Luke Rose and Miranda Wallis.

Sponsored by Lonmin Plc, one of the world’s largest producers of platinum, the competition is now in its 8th year and every year the number of entries increases and the quality of designs gets better and better.  The winning designs are striking, original and have the desired “wow” factor.

The winners were selected by a distinguished panel of judges which included internationally renowned designer Stephen Webster, Albert Jamieson from Lonmin, award winning designer Shaun Leane, Lesley Craze of Lesley Craze Gallery, Jenni Middleton, Editor of Retail Jeweller, Ruth Donaldson from Platinum Guild International, Jo Trivedi from Johnson Matthey, Jayant Raniga from PureJewels, Lindsey Straughton from the British Jewellers’ Association and Sam Willoughby from International Jewellery London. Nicole Cooper from Blue Inc, organisers of the competition chaired the judging session.
Nina Koutibashvili's ring (2009)
Nina Koutibashvili’s ring (2009)
Entries are submitted as drawings and the eight winners are asked to make up their piece of jewellery to be revealed in September when they will be displayed on the Johnson Matthey precious metals marketing stand at International Jewellery London (IJL) from 5 – 8 September at Earls Court.  The pieces will also be worn by models at a spectacular party and awards ceremony at the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion on 6 September.

An exclusive marketing and PR campaign is being planned to help promote the designers and their winning designs.